Blow Off Steam and Punch a Panda

  • Need to blow off some steam? Feel like punching something adorable? Nate Hill is here to help. Dressed as a happy panda, Nate offers random strangers to punch his (padded) stomach.

If you are in Brooklyn, you can set up an appointment to Punch the Panda.

β€œI choose the panda suit because the panda face really melts people’s heart. I wanted to have people get out their aggression on something cute. It’s fun to have that contradiction. This is an art project. I’m not just a thrill seeker.” – Nate Hill

 

 

Thnx Buzzfeed

This entry was posted in The Daily and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Blow Off Steam and Punch a Panda

  1. runtobefit says:

    I want to punch a the panda!!! How do I sign up!!

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

  2. Oh. My. God. Must punch panda…MUST PUNCH PANDA!

    There is an incredible amount of crazy in my life, about which I’m blogging: legal battle to stop me from blogging, crazy people, etc.

    Do you think they’ll invent a “virtual” panda to punch? Just sayin’…

    πŸ˜‰

  3. This is awesome! I bet all those New Yorkers are ready to slug the crap out of him!

  4. Lindsay says:

    Am I the only one who thinks this isn’t really funny?

  5. acrankywomansview says:

    fun- I wonder what the art project is about??

  6. gpeace says:

    If only I lived in Brooklyn! Brilliant idea πŸ™‚

  7. livisonpdc says:

    Ya!I think so

  8. Sunflowerdiva says:

    Wow, Nate Hill is either an angel or a lunatic. What a thing to do!

  9. Pingback: Tweets that mention Blow Off Steam and Punch a Panda | -- Topsy.com

  10. rory says:

    thats awesome. i think i am going to take that idea and do something like that in virginia beach! haha. the things people think of these days are incredibly strange yet fascinatingly brilliant at the same time!

    http://www.hudsonsluxury.com

  11. Thanks for this post. I blog about being an American in Haiti. Could I punch the panda cause I’m pissed the American people don’t donate a tiny percentage of what they spend on Black Friday to bring Thanksgiving to the poor in Port-au-Prince? Seriously! Congratulations on being freshly pressed.

  12. this settles it…moving to brooklyn, but how am i going to deal with all the hipsters?
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

  13. mia1984 says:

    How can anyone punch something that cute. If I were angry and I saw that panda I would just melt and hug the cute thing.

  14. enjoibeing says:

    this is so cool! great idea and im sure it’ll make people happy and free from anger.

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  15. Evie Garone says:

    Different! I don’t think I could punch a panda, I love them too much! What’s up with they want to make you stop blogging?

    evelyngarone.com

  16. educlaytion says:

    It’s about time those pandas finally get what’s been coming to them.
    http://www.eduClaytion.com

  17. Where are those pandas? I need to punch one, well, maybe more than one)))
    office cleaning Schaumburg

  18. Rich says:

    That is awesome. Thanks for the laugh! Great stuff

  19. So is the project for one day, a month? I am not sure I could punch a panda.

  20. Lindsay says:

    I think I’d rather hug than punch. Where’s a panda I can hug?

  21. auntbethany says:

    I lived in NYC for 2 years and never knew about the Punching Panda! I’m guessing it wouldn’t be nearly as fun to punch the Naked Cowboy in Times Square, eh?

    Congrats on FP!

  22. I have three little girls, ages 5, 3, and 2. Do you think he’d come over one day and just let me punch him every time I get annoyed? Like when something spills on the floor. Or they fight with each other. Or they whine. Or they complain. Or my 2 year-old who isn’t yet potty trained has a nasty poo? I wonder how much that would cost.

  23. LainaLain says:

    Sigh…I would so love to punch that panda right now.

  24. i love this! we need a panda!

  25. misscherie93 says:

    That’s a good way to relieve stress πŸ™‚ I wish I lived in New York.

  26. lauramore10 says:

    pandas really do melt faces… I think i’ll hug it!

  27. Yusra says:

    I’ve been searching for something to punch the past week (due to a Series of Unfortunate Events *bookreferenceintended*); and here, you give me a Panda! πŸ˜€
    Only problem is, I’m not on the right continent for it… -_-

  28. antsrants says:

    I hear the city is cracking down on panda punching. The liberal left has been belly aching about animal rights again even if the animal in question is actually a man in a bear suit. We can only hope that Panda Paws don’t get taken off the menu of fine Chinese restaurants.

  29. Danny says:

    Wow, that’s kinda AWESOME!!!! I’m totally trying this some day!

    http://writeos.wordpress.com

  30. This is cool! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  31. ashleeekaren says:

    This is amazing. That guy is a genius. He should come here to LA and stand at freeway offramps. He’ll get the crap punched out of him.

  32. M. says:

    Nice! And thx for the link! I could use a punching bag panda.

  33. Stephen Mc Elligott says:

    I disagree with the project though. although done with good intentions they are however misdirected and thus rendered as not good at all. It promotes violence and the idea that one can blow off some steam even if its just humorous, nonetheless is saying ”violence solves your unhappiness”

    http://www.loyaltothemagisterium.wordpress.com

  34. Faye says:

    lolol…awesome.

  35. elmer says:

    how about Punch-A-Pacman

  36. firstthough says:

    Awesome!! Great way to relief the stress.

  37. Sam Keller says:

    I think I would like to punch a spammer. Do they make spammer suits?

  38. This is great! so inventive. I am surprised, though, that the people of Brooklyn (knowing them well) didn’t kick you in the balls as well as punching you in the gut…

  39. Great project!

    Let us know your conclusions ~

    : )

  40. Kinda cute… though there are times I’d rather punch a real human than a panda.

  41. laynechin says:

    You know what, at first glance, I won’t punch a guy in cute panda suit. Gradually, I think it’s reasonable to punch him for this costume. As he said so “It’s fun to have that contradiction”

  42. HeadlineFun says:

    That is crazy funny! I need to go there one of these days.

  43. Generation 26 says:

    Oh that’s awesome! I feel a little bad for him though, getting abused all day…and he’s bound to encounter someone so angry they hurt him[beat him like he stole something, kick the shit out of him, knock his block off, take your pick]

  44. purrrentice says:

    That’s amazing! That panda needs to come to the ATL!

  45. Messina Studio says:

    It sounds like it’s along the line of one of those art projects where people lay in the street pretending to be dead to see how long it will take passersby to offer assistance.

  46. jfaraj says:

    Haha what a great idea, it looks so cute with a fist in its stomach πŸ˜›

  47. I am so heading to Brooklyn — watch out Mr. Panda, I might look sweet and innocent but this Greek blonde girl took Kick Boxing with Billy Blanks and I can kick the crap out of you Mr. Panda! You are going down Panda.

    Blessings,

    Ava “The Greek Kick Boxer” Aston
    xox

  48. Richard says:

    Bad message. Not funny.

  49. I love how he says, this is an art project.

    Very interesting!

  50. The panda is so thin.. but,, i like the eyes n the idea tp punch on somethin cuteand adorable.. πŸ™‚

  51. The panda is so thin.. but,, i like the eyes n the idea to punch on somethin cute and adorable..

  52. Hmm.. This might have some unforeseen consequences. Hope we’re not all punchin’ the Santa by Christmas…

  53. Hahaha! Cute! I don’t wanna punch the panda, but I’d like to punch that panda! LOL πŸ˜›

  54. After seeing the title of your blog post, I couldn’t NOT stop and read it! Awesome! Do you know if you have to pay to punch the panda or if this dude just lets people wail on him for free?

  55. Steve says:

    Isn’t Panda one of Palin’s kids names? I guess I’d still give it a punch, tho. “Just punchin’ the panda,” I’d tell my boss when asked where I’d been.

  56. truthphotography says:

    i can see quite a market for punch a panda in any office block worldwide!

  57. nearlynormalized says:

    How do you hit something almost cute? Art project and psycho study, all in one. Yeah Brooklyn….in my youth.

  58. shibbymoose says:

    I swear if you were in South Africa it would be the coolest thing in the world! I wanna punch a panda tooooo!!!!! lol

  59. This is a fantastic idea.
    Giant foam costumes make everything more fun, especially punching.

  60. gmomj says:

    Pretty risky letting random strangers punch you in Brooklyn.

    Isn’t that in NY?

    Art project or death wish???

    Surprised the po’ po’ haven’t caught up with you yet.

  61. y says:

    nice. how can I punch a cute panda? can i just hug him instead? lol

  62. winxrocker says:

    This is an absolutely amazing idea! I always punch a little teddy bear I have at home when I’m angry, and then I feel bad for doing it.
    Maybe I will go to Brooklyn after my exams are over and punch the panda! Nice way to let out stress, don’t you think?
    I hope nothing happens to him though. If his stomach wasn’t padded, I bet someone would have broken a bone or muscle or had indigestion by now.
    Congrats on being Freshly Pressed!
    Ashley

  63. jamieonline says:

    I think the happy Panda should visit Europe. Come to The Netherlands and the Dutchies could have a field day going punch crazy. That’s if they can find you after staggering out of the coffee shops.
    Jamie
    http://jamieonline.wordpress.com/

  64. rc auto says:

    make a video game of it

  65. rachel f. says:

    is it ok if i want to just hug the panda? maybe buy him a donut?

  66. justanotheraverageteenager says:

    Lmfao, You just had to say panda..Pandas are my favorite animals. XD (:
    http://ummyeahah.wordpress.com/ <—?

  67. Time for the panda to show some Kung-Fu skillz

    http://zformisspelled.wordpress.com/

  68. Jackie says:

    The panda is so cute — I want to hug it not punch it!

  69. Aaron says:

    I really do wish that I lived near him. Sometimes I’m in the mood to punch something, but a pillow isn’t good enough, and the prices are extremely cheap too!

  70. DanaFayme says:

    Punching a panda would be the equivalent of watching rabid unicorns fight to the death in a jello pit as far as excitement goes. I’m on the edge of my seat just thinking about pounding away at the furry friend! Now that I think of it, this would be a great way to earn some extra cash! Charge a dollar for 30 seconds of punching, and you’ve got yourself a gold mine!

  71. Pingback: Soque o Panda « NOVA REDE

Leave a Reply

