Are Uncircumcised Penises Weird?

My new article at the Good Men Project:

I am an uncircumcised man.

This has never bothered my wife, Nicole. Or so I thought. “It’s like your penis is wearing a turtleneck,” she’d sometimes say, benignly.

As such, there was never any doubt in my mind that, should my wife and I ever produce a miniature me, he would also go uncircumcised. We would leave his little thing alone. No snip-snip, just like Daddy.

Until, that is, the late-September day when we brought our newborn son home from the hospital. It was chilly, and the tightly wrapped baked potato of a boy felt warm in the crook of my arm.

“We’re getting Dalton circumcised,” my wife said as she fastened the potato into his car seat.

“What?” I said. “Since when does he need that?”

“Ever since uncircumcised penises are weird.”

She paused before adding, a little backpedally, “Except yours, of course. Yours is OK.”

This is how I learned my wife’s true feelings about the type of penis I have—by comparing it to our infant son’s. She thinks—has always thought—“OK.” I knew what “OK” meant, of course. “OK” meant weird, just like she’d said.

Continue…

This entry was posted in Good Man Project/Dads Good and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are Uncircumcised Penises Weird?

  1. Hugh7 says:

    Cole Gamble has what we call a “circumcised mindset”, describing his own normal, whole, healthy, functional anatomy as “extra” (or asking whether it’s “weird”).

    Several commenters on other places he’s posted this have suggested Cole get HIMSELF circumcised. That would have made a lot more sense for all of them. And if he had, it’s odds on he would have told Nicole where to get off with doing that to his son.

    I hope his son forgives him, but if not, I’m on the son’s side.

  2. ,,,,,,, * There is a movement of Jews who are questioning circumcision, and working to end this abuse of children. The movement ranges from the Orthodox to the secular, and includes mothers, fathers, scholars, historians, medical professionals, activists, and intellectuals.

    * Jews Against Circumcision http://www.jewsagainstcircumcision.org/
    * The Current Judaic Movement to End Circumcision: Part 1

    http://intactnews.org/node/105/1311886372/jewish-voices-current-judaic-movement-end-circumcision-part-1

    The Kindest Un-Cut Feminism, Judaism, and My Son’s Foreskin by Professor Michael S. Kimmel

    http://www.cirp.org/pages/cultural/kimmel1/

    Jewish Intactivist Miriam Pollack has some great commentary on Foreskin Man in this recent interview.

    http://www.beyondthebris.com/2011/07/defying-convention-interview-with_27.html

    Jews Speak Out in Favor of Banning Circumcision on Minors
    http://intactnews.org/node/103/1311885181/jews-speak-out-favor-banning-circumcision-minors ,,,,,,,,,,,

  3. A,nihl says:

    This is like something out of a bad sci-fi satire.

Leave a Reply

